REFRESH

I know; it’s been a while.

As it turns out, working full time and planning a wedding and being way too dedicated to your workout schedule can take a lot out of a girl.

Marching down the aisle.
Evan and I have made so much progress on that whole wedding-planning thing. The photo you see here I obviously didn’t take, but our awesome photographer Meg Brock did. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. I also JUST found my wedding dress this past weekend, after realizing that I wanted two very different things. In my practical mind I wanted a dress that worked for an outdoor wedding, wasn’t too poufy, and was actually flattering. In my fantastical mind I wanted something NO ONE HAD EVER SEEN BEFORE, AND COMFORT BE DAMNED BECAUSE I AM GOING TO IMPRESS EVERYONE.

Can you guess which lady won that argument? The dress is beautiful and comfortable and we’ll just have to To Be Continued this conversation until September 6th.

Now I get to focus on some of the other fun stuff, like decorating the reception and outfitting our bridal party.

Balancing act.
You know how sometimes it’s tough to balance doing things you want to do and getting paid for doing things? Those don’t always converge. I’ve gotten just a little bit closer recently. A small team of people at my office have started a brand new F.A. Davis blog.  So now I get to write creatively just a bit more, and for me, that’s always an inspiring thing.

You may see me blogging in other places too, but more on that later.

Changing it up.
If you’ve been here before, you may notice a different look for this little blog. I thrive on change, and it had been far too long. It also forced me to think about what I want this little blog to be. Stories? Totes. Photos. YES – and rededicating myself to shooting with my film cameras. I’ve been playing with the Fujifilm Instax lately but my Holga still gets dragged on some adventures. It’s that 35mm that has to get back in on the action. In case you’re wondering, I shoot with the Canon EOS Rebel GII 35mm and it’s a good little camera that deserves some playtime.

All the old pages are still up if you browse the menu in the top right; and I added an archive to the menu too since there’s definitely some history attached to this blog now.

Shake, shake, shake, shake, shake.
I’ve been working on having more FUN lately, and in the immortal words of Taylor Swift, shaking it off. And shaking it up. Despite the motivation-killing chill in the air, I’ve been trying to do more things just because. Sending notes to family and friends. Painting my nails. Going on more lunch break walks just to wander. Worrying less about eating healthy and eating exactly what I want. (This has led to an unfortunate rise in potato chips and now my taste buds are just kind of swinging the other way – “Feed me green things,” they whimper.) Organizing more and seeking new things to read.

Book club has been SO good for me in that regard, because it forced me to pick up things I would have never read before. Not to mention, it gives me ALL THE warm fuzzies to stay in touch with friends more often, read the same books, and then have an excuse to get together and talk about them. If I have any goal this year, it’s more time, regularly, with the people I love the most.

So who wants to be pen pals? This is not a drill.

’til next time!

Comments
2 Responses to “REFRESH”
  1. Let me start off by saying that I want you to blog all over the place! Reading this, especially the last portion, made me smile. I am happy that you are taking time to focus on yourself and having fun even with all the stuff you have going on. Your mani-Mondays make me happy, and I support your goal of taking pictures with all the cameras you have. That sounds vague, but it is the extent of my photography knowledge. If you write me anything, I will totally write you back. Also, I love our book club fun times and Skype calls, mostly because you are such an adorably intelligent and beautiful human being. Love you!

    Like

  2. Kaylena says:

    You are a busy lady! (F.A. Davis blog looks very professional, btw!) Thanks for updating, I love to read what’s going on in your life, especially in your words 🙂 Can’t wait to see that DRESS either! When you say pen pals, do you mean the actual writing with a pen on a paper sort of pen pals? I’d say send a letter to Elisabeth Evans, because she wrote me the most eloquent and insane letters when I was studying abroad. I’d suggest me, but my handwriting is terrible, and it gets worse the longer I write. Anyway, keep up the blogging and the amazing work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

