It’s a faster, growing green

Red wall

More photos of exploring the neighborhood. If you’re familiar, it’s safe to say these images were taken around Front, Thompson, Master, Mascher, Hancock, or maybe Jefferson. If not, you need to frequent NoLibs more. We have a bar with arcade games. It’s a Barcade.

Fire hydrant burst

The quintessential Philly fire hydrant burst on a back alley off of Thompson. I think it had also rained, which is why this is basically an urban river.

Overgrowth

And here is the photograph that made me want to go all old-school Early November. What can I say, sometimes The Room’s Too Cold… just hits me and it’s all “WHOOSH! Nostalgia.” Good thing I have it on vinyl. (It’s probably so warped.) And the boyfriend is all about the turntable setup these days. Between that and Wicked, I’ve been awash in sentimentality. Justin and Amanda came over for board games and we played Killer Bunnies, and just forget it, I’m 19 again. Even though I hadn’t played in years and was terrible. I was equally awful at Settlers of Catan, but what are you going to do?

See? We're always looking up.

See? We’re always looking up.

Not gonna lie, I’m also feeling pretty glum/sentimental about Cory Monteith, who played Finn Hudson on Glee, dying alone in his hotel room yesterday. My mom even texted me to see if I was okay. (So, yeah, everyone knows I’m a dork.) Don’t do drugs, kids. It’s just not worth it, and we’re all entitled to long, happy, healthy lives. I’m aware this isn’t a very popular show among my age group, and particularly my group of friends, but I just love it – particularly the first season. There is a place for very adult, restrained, cynical shows in pop culture, but I love Glee because it is none of those things. It’s silly and unrestrained and has shared with a younger generation an unabashed love for music and an unrelenting sociopolitical stance that currently divides our country. I think it’s timely and timeless, and gives distinct voices to gay, transvestite, black, Asian, Christian, Jewish, and developmentally disabled characters that you still don’t see very often on TV because they make people uncomfortable.

So here’s a performance or several. Not gonna lie, I got a little teary watching these.

I’ll Stand by You

Somebody to Love

Just The Way You Are

Faithfully

Judging by the comments, I’m not the only one having a little sentimental Glee YouTube retrospective. So everybody, hope you loved ones of mine have a beautiful start to your week. Take some pictures, enjoy the world around you, and don’t be ashamed to make a little room in your life for the ridiculous.

xo

Comments
3 Responses to “It’s a faster, growing green”
  1. I want to go to Barcade so bad! And I remember playing Killer Bunnies in your basement — so much nostalgia in this post. But I like it. I look at old pictures all the time on my computer. I actually have a folder of The Early November show of pictures that Corkie took, I think. All the pictures are entitled HOLYEFFTEN. Hehe. I’m pretty sure I was sandwiched between you two in the van — July 2006. CRAZY.

    Also, don’t talk about Glee in past tense! I read a bunch of articles and stumbled upon and older one for the upcoming season and the last line was “Which character will you miss most?” I couldn’t help but let out a heavy-hearted sigh. So, you’re not the only one, most definitely, that’s feeling a little sad about his death. I love you! Keep posting pictures and writing posts! No pressure. 😉

    Like

  2. corkieee says:

    Love your pictures, baby bird. Especially the vine and sky shot that got you thinking of TEN. 🙂 i thought of you immediately when i heard the news about Cory Monteith’s death, i can’t even call myself a fan and it sill breaks my heart.
    Miss your cute face. I hope summer in the city’s treating you well!

    Like

  3. Justin E. says:

    Fuck yeah, name-drop! This blog is full of awesome things, as per usual. Keep cool and rock on, lady.

    Like

Leave a Reply

