Dark city/Sunny days

How about some photos? These are from last summer, exploring the neighborhood when I first moved in. Considering my one year anniversary at my job/one year anniversary in the city is next week, it seems like an appropriate time to look back and see how the neighborhood has changed.

Flowers exploding off a chain link fence on Thompson St.

Flowers exploding off a chain link fence on Thompson St.

Also on Thompson.

Also on Thompson.

Flowers growing everywhere in June heat. Also I'm a HUGE fan of how darkly these developed.

Flowers growing everywhere in June heat. Also I’m a HUGE fan of how darkly these developed.

I don't really hang out in Kung Fu Necktie, but since I pass it every day on my way to work I enjoy how often the graffiti and show posters change and layer over each other.

I don’t really hang out in Kung Fu Necktie, but since I pass it every day on my way to work I enjoy how often the graffiti and show posters change and layer over each other.

More KFN.

More KFN.

These crazy guys were some of my favorite street art on Front/Thompson. They are now long gone.

These crazy guys were some of my favorite street art on Front/Thompson. They are now long gone.

I think part of what I love about street art is how transitional it can be. Here one day, gone the next, or adapted into something else by a different artist. I think really good tattoos should do the same thing – melt into each other, connect and work off each other and tell the story of your life. Anyway, I’m glad I unintentionally took a sick day today in order to bring you a little bit of introspection and a fair few creepy photos.

So if we’re pals on Instagram (or if you’d like to be @alisahath) you may have come across my explosion of tiny-art-hanging and trinket reorganizing. I attribute this entirely to the wealth of flea markets and arts fests that have been cropping up in the neighborhood lately. A few weeks ago, we hit up the Punk Rock Flea Market on Spring Garden. Two days, all kinds of vendors, aaaaaall the handmade jewelry. (I obviously blew some cash.) Then Brooklyn Flea came to the Piazza, and while I haven’t found any treasures to take home from them yet, I have an opportunity to revisit it every Sunday. Finally, my favorite next-door neighbors at the Crane Arts Building hosted an event called Art for the Cash Poor this past weekend, where local vendors could sell their wares and cheapie-bargain-hunters like me could search for art and handmade items that won’t leave a bruise in your wallet.

Not to mention Evan and I had a blast at Philadelphia ComicCon the weekend prior to this one, and of course some souvenirs were acquired. (We also had the relaxing, well-planned and executed opportunity to sit for panels on Hollywood and Comics, Kevin Sorbo’s Q&A, James Marsters’ Q&A, Stan Lee’s Q&A, Vampire Lore Throughout History, Kris Holden-Reed from Lost Girls, Henry Winkler’s Q&A, BuffyFest with James Marsters and Charisma Carpenter, a Firefly Reunion with Adam Baldwin, Gina Torres, Summer Glau, and Jewel Staite, AND ample time to walk around the floor and see other celebrities like the Ashmore Twins and Brian Krause from Charmed. If you were privy to any of my harrowing, stress-induced tales from New York ComicCon, you can appreciate how happy I was that we saw EVERYTHING we came to see and didn’t have to fight a crowd of costumed uberfans for it.)

So, upon sharing all those goings-on here, I am reminded how lucky I am to live where I do and get to experience as much as I do. My life is fantastic. The best part is that summer has only just begun. This week my ADORABLE BABY SISTER graduates high school (aaaaaaaahhhh) and I can’t wait to hang out with her and the family at her grad party. Evan and I have our three-year anniversary coming up (d’aw) which luckily falls over a blessedly long weekend. In July we’ll be going to see THE BARENAKED LADIES/BEN FOLDS/GUSTER (what a weird show to be excited for, but I am) and then WICKED (I am so pumped, Evan is magnanimously tolerating it) and we have free stand-up comedy tickets at Helium. Not to mention August brings us to JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE AND JAY-Z IN CONCERT (I have not the least bit of shame) and September will be closing out summer with ATOMS FOR PEACE.

So there it is, friends. I didn’t intend to write so much today (truly, I was just going to post the pictures) but it felt like a good day to account excitements of the past, the present, and the future. Life is beautiful, and on those days when I feel stuck and feel like I’m not evolving fast enough or experiencing everything life has to offer, I need to slap myself in the face and then read this post because everything is magical.

What’s making you smile today, friends?

Leave a Reply

