Just for because.

Oh Elvis, you’re a man of many prints.

So school is over, but giving up on blogging and taking pictures and sharing the world was never my intention. So here on this rainy Sunday, August the 21st, I resume my attempt at … you know, something. I don’t know what it is yet. I’m not sure it needs definition. I will still post photographs, obviously, though all credit for this one is bestowed on my gentleman caller Mr. Evan Smith, who was willing to stand directly under the stage with my Lumix at the Newport Folk Festival for this fabulous shot. As a way to classify this here-I-go-back-into-it post, we shall title the following Things I Love and Feel Obligated to Share. I’m lazy, so it’s a list.

1. The Newport, Rhode Island Folk Festival. As a truly amazing climax to my Summer of Live Music, the Newport Folk Fest allowed me to experience Mr. Elvis Costello, Wanda Jackson, Amos Lee, Delta Spirit, Gogol Bordello, The Wailin’ Jennys, The Decemberists, and Tegan & Sara live. (All but the last for the very first time.) Newport is beautiful, the festival was incredibly well-done, and it was generally a great weekend. The Newport Storm Brewery deserves a special mention.

2. As an aside, this Summer of Live Music has gotten me through a summer that may otherwise have been unfortunately monotonous. Having amazing shows to go see with even more amazing people definitely saved me. Summer of Music 2011 went as follows: The Kills at the TLA in Philadelphia, Ace Enders (I Can Make a Mess Like Nobody’s Business) at the Northstar Bar (Philly), The Dodos supercheap tickets we picked up at the previous TLA show (also at the TLA), Newport exploding awesomeness all over the place, my first ever time seeing Death Cab for Cutie at the Mann Center in Fairmount Park (again Philly). Death Cab played a four song encore, three of which were from Transatlanticism. Perfect! The last segment of SoM2011 is the first ever Early November Reunion Show at the Electric Factory, Philadelphia on September 10th. Sixteen-year-old me CANNOT WAIT.

3. Lucky Strike tattoo in Quakertown, Pa. Me and the fella went on a lark to celebrate a year of happy dating by getting mini tats. I got the imprint of an antique wooden camera stamp on my left foot. I may share a picture someday. Mr. Smith got a classic nautical star on the inside of his heel-ankle area.

4. The Panasonic Lumix point-and-shoot I bought to record various summer events. Not that I don’t love my real-photog Olympus E500 (for the post-college-grad with big dreams and a small bank account) but lugging a real camera to a hippie fest just didn’t seem like the best plan. Plus a good photographer should never be leaving her best tools at home because they’re too big to fit in her (unreasonably massive) purse. So I bought a lazy-cam. God help me, I love the thing.

5. Spotify. The reason for this should be obvious – you can listen to whatever you damn-well please, whenever you like, without having to download anything. FOR FREE. Would be way more fun if I had a desktop, but I ain’t picky. And now to round out this catch-up-on-my-life blog post, here is my first Spotify playlist, which I highly recommend.

1. Amos Lee – Street Corner Preacher
2. Peter Bjorn – Nothing to Worry About
3. The Kills – Nail in My Coffin
4. Los Campesinos! – We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
5. Band of Skulls – Light of the Morning
6. Cold War Kids – Hospital Beds
7. Tegan and Sara – Alligator (Ra Ra Riot Remix)
8. OK GO – This Too Shall Pass (Ra Ra Riot Remix)
9. Mark Ronson feat. Amy Winehouse – Valerie
10. Ra Ra Riot – Too Dramatic
11. Pixies – Where is My Mind?
12. Nico, The Velvet Underground – Sunday Morning
13. Eric Hutchinson – Rock & Roll

There you go, kids. A bit of folk fest, a bit of badassness, a bit of Amy Winehouse in memorial, and a totally-out-there singer-songwriter pop puff piece thrown in. That’s just how I live my life, as my friend Corkie would say.

Here’s to picking things back up and moving back to the digital neighborhood.

A.H.

Leave a Reply

